Groupe Mutuel Holding

Activity Report 2023

Editorial

How can you sum up a year at Groupe Mutuel in a few words? Groupe Mutuel is delighted with its commercial success and the overall positive outcome of 2023.

“With more than 63,000 new policyholders having signed up in 2023 for basic insurance (AOS/OKP), the commercial results are very satisfactory for the second year running”, said Karin Perraudin, President of the Board of Groupe Mutuel.

This success is all the more satisfying given that the context for our industry, and for the economy as a whole, remains very tense. With health costs rising sharply by 3.7% (the biggest increase in 10 years), premiums are also rising sharply. In 2023, more than 63,000 new customers decided to take out insurance with Groupe Mutuel. After welcoming some 67,500 new insured members the year before, this is a second consecutive success that confirms the choices made by the Board and Executive Board.

“In terms of sales and turnover, we are on the right track in all sectors of the business, which is extremely satisfying. I would like to congratulate all the Groupe Mutuel teams who contributed to this major new success”, said Thomas Boyer, CEO of Groupe Mutuel.

Many business indicators are therefore positive, which means that 2023 was a good year. In the life insurance sector, for example, net new assets reached almost CHF 250 million, that is up more than 40% on the previous year. The Corporate Sector continued to grow, with almost 30,000 corporate customers (+1,500), consolidating our position as Switzerland's fifth-largest insurer, even though some restructuring measures were made necessary by the higher number of claims (more absenteeism, and a sharp rise in psychological disorders).

“This growth in all areas of the business is a confirmation of our diversification strategy. We are therefore going to pursue this path and continue to offer a full range of new health and pension products that meet the needs of our customers and the expectations of the market. We are the only company in Switzerland that can do this for both private customers and companies. This is one of our strengths, and we intend to pursue this development and growth, particularly in German-speaking Switzerland, thanks to our solid and innovative LPP/BVG second pillar pension solutions. These solutions are proving highly successful, with premium income in this sector exceeding CHF 200 million for the first time”, said the CEO.

However, despite this good news, and as is often the case in life, finding the perfect balance is never easy. While the news on the commercial front is excellent, it is a little more contrasted in terms of financial results. This year's financial loss and last year's are forcing us to be more cautious, to tighten our budgets and to keep a tighter grip on our profitability.

“The higher-than-expected rise in health costs, combined with still-volatile stock markets, means that certain financial indicators will require our attention”, explained Karin Perraudin.

The regulatory and political pressure to contain premium increases and limit the levels of reserves is understandable. However, this must not be to the detriment of policyholders. Our reserves have fallen sharply to the point where some of our health insurance providers are in a more vulnerable situation. This is mainly due to the sharp rise in health costs. In short, insurance premiums have not been covering costs for some time now.

Action is therefore urgently needed to prevent further increases in health costs. The Swiss healthcare system is resilient and strong. This was demonstrated during the Covid crisis. But its funding is not sustainable. “All partners must act together. For this reason, Groupe Mutuel is calling for the creation of a Task Force to bring all stakeholders together around the same table to put forward strong and effective measures, as from 1 January 2025, in order to stabilise costs. This is not a fantasy or a new idea. Switzerland is capable of doing this and has proved so in the past”, argued Thomas Boyer, CEO of Groupe Mutuel.

Decisions can be taken immediately on the price of medicines, on encouraging the use of more generics, on false incentives and unnecessary medical procedures, and on the general requirement to have an electronic patient file. “I am convinced that we must do this, and insurers obviously have their share of responsibility for finding the best solutions that are acceptable to as many people as possible. We cannot let things slide and just hope that everything will change without changing our methods”, said Thomas Boyer.

The challenges for 2024 are numerous and stimulating. The political stakes are also high, with major referendums and heated debates. “We urgently need to find effective solutions that can be applied quickly. Therefore, I am calling for a little less discussion and more decision-making to truly find a way to help our citizens”, said Karin Perraudin. Groupe Mutuel will also be stepping up its efforts to make the customer experience more simple and more efficient. “We will be there to support, advise and help our policyholders every step of the way”, said Thomas Boyer.

Karin Perraudin
President

Thomas Boyer
CEO

Read more Reduce

Key figures

Groupe Mutuel Holding SA

0

The number of private customers in all areas of activity rose to 1.420 million in 2023, up from 1.340 million in 2022.

Health private customers

Increase in turnover
The turnover in the Health sector amounted to CHF 5.854 billion (5.326 billion in 2022). This sharp rise however conceals another reality. The technical losses are significant, as the premiums collected do not cover by far the invoices to be paid. For the entire industry, the shortfall is estimated by the umbrella association santésuisse at several billion Swiss francs.

Increase in LAMal/KVG turnover
The volume of gross premiums under LAMAL/KVG has risen to CHF 4.49 billion (4.14 billion in 2022).

On the other hand, insurance benefits increased significantly to CHF 4.469 billion (4.113 billion in 2022). The insurance underwriting result reached CHF -278 million in 2023 (-163 million in 2022).

Private supplemental insurance (LCA/VVG)
The private supplemental plans offered by Groupe Mutuel Assurances GMA SA ended the 2023 financial year with a loss of CHF -11 million (compared with a loss of CHF 121 million in 2022).

Cost control
Invoice verification reduced costs by 9.4%, with savings of CHF 600 million.

Number of persons insured with basic insurance (AOS/OKP)
Competition between insurers prompted a larger-than-usual number of policyholders to switch insurers or optimise their insurance. Groupe Mutuel ended the 2023 business year on a positive note.  As a result, the number of persons insured with basic insurance (AOS/OKP) was 1,070,500 as of 1 January 2024, compared with 1,007,500 in 2023, that is a net gain of more than 63,000 insured persons.

This means that the one million mark has once again been comfortably passed and confirms the success of the new sales strategy for the second year running.

A further rise in health costs of around 3.7% in 2023
In 2023, health costs will rise by a further 3.7%, on top of the 6.38% surge in 2021 and the 3% increase in 2022, i.e. an increase of almost 14% in three years. Our estimates for 2023 are around 3.7%, as of the end of January 2024, i.e. with around 90% of 2023 invoices accounted for.

Individual pension provision

Continued success
The focus of Groupe Mutuel Vie is on the individual life insurance range with periodic premiums. Our flexible and competitive solutions meet the various needs of our customers, whether they are looking to fill gaps in their pension provision at retirement age or to protect themselves against life’s hazards. Launched in 2022, our VariaInvest savings insurance continues to win over our sales network and external partners thanks to its market-leading flexibility.

Groupe Mutuel Vie has positioned itself as an innovative player, active in both health and pension insurance. A new product offering launched in March 2024, combining health and pension cover, has confirmed this strategic direction. Thanks to this unique solution, our customers are able to save for their retirement while protecting their savings against unforeseen expenses resulting from extended hospitalisation and/or the birth of a child.

Business development
Groupe Mutuel Vie sells its insurance products through its own network (Groupe Mutuel general agencies) and through a network of external agents. Supported by the new VariaInvest savings solution, we recorded a 4% increase in new business.

Outlook for 2024
Following the approval by the Swiss people of the initiative for the 13th AVS/AHV state pension “Mieux vivre à la retraite” (Living better in retirement), the need to save for retirement and to secure savings has increased. Thanks to its VariaInvest product, which combines secure savings, return prospects and great flexibility, Groupe Mutuel Vie is able to provide its customers with a solution to meet these needs in terms of individual retirement provision. In addition, Groupe Mutuel intends to develop innovative products to cover health-related needs in the context of private pension provision. Continuous training of our network and improved advice remain one of our priorities.

Health insurance for companies and occupational pension benefits

Continued growth
In 2023, corporate insurance continued its impressive growth, with the number of corporate clients increasing by 1,500 to reach 29,500 companies currently insured by Groupe Mutuel. This sector continued to grow and remains Groupe Mutuel’s second largest business sector in terms of revenue, ahead of supplemental health insurance for private customers (LCA/VVG).

The overall turnover for the corporate sector rose by CHF 146 million to reach 974 million in 2023, compared with 828 million in 2022, that is an increase of more than 17%. Loss of earnings for illness (daily benefits under LAMal/KVG + LCA/VVG), in particular, grew significantly, to reach CHF 609 million (CHF 504 million in 2022, that is an increase of CHF 105 million). In five years, this figure has increased by more than CHF 250 million.

In terms of loss of earnings insurance due to illness, Groupe Mutuel is now ranked fifth in Switzerland, ahead of most private insurers, which is an excellent achievement. In 2023, the turnover for accident insurance (premium volume of accident insurance for LAA/UVG and LAAC/ZUVG) continued to rise and amounted to CHF 161 million compared with 138 million in 2022, i.e. an additional CHF 23 million.

Success for Groupe Mutuel Prévoyance-GMP and further consolidation with Opsion
Groupe Mutuel Prévoyance-GMP also performed very well, with 2,882 affiliated companies and over 30,000 insured employees. The total LPP/BVG balance sheet is CHF 2.78 billion for a coverage ratio of 109%. For the first time, premium income exceeded CHF 200 million. The remuneration of LPP/BVG assets is 2% in 2024, which is among the best in the market. Since 2021, Opsion has also allowed us to offer a full range of pension products, thereby strengthening our presence in the market.

A human dimension to make services more accessible
Companies can find the entire range of insurance for their employees under one roof. With the Corporate xNet, policyholders can easily manage the administrative aspects of their company and focus on the essentials.

Win-win situations in terms of corporate health
As a significant added-value, our different specialists for the management of cases of incapacity for work, absences and corporate health, who represent over 150 experts and specialists, are available for companies to ensure that all parties involved (employee, employer, insurer) are able to enjoy win-win situations. Our Corporate Health Management (CHM) concept provides the framework and the toolbox to ensure the optimal management of all situations relating to employee health. It is in this area that we intend to demonstrate innovation by further strengthening our services over the coming years as a trusted partner to our corporate clients.

Governance

Groupe Mutuel is organised in the form of a holding company. The companies that make up the holding company are active in various insurance fields, such as health and pensions, both for private individuals and companies. Groupe Mutuel Holding SA is wholly owned by Fondation Groupe Mutuel, a non-profit foundation. The Foundation supports the well-being of people in Switzerland, as well as health promotion and prevention measures, through a number of activities.

Structure of Groupe Mutuel

Structure of Groupe Mutuel

Organisational chart of Groupe Mutuel

Organisational chart of Groupe Mutuel
Groupe Mutuel Rapport 2022

Rue des Cèdres 5 Case postale, 1919 Martigny    |    +41 0848.803.111

Groupe Mutuel Holding

Rapport d’activité 2023

Éditorial

Comment résumer une année au Groupe Mutuel en quelques mots ? Le Groupe Mutuel peut se réjouir de son succès commercial et tirer globalement un bilan positif de l’année 2023.

« Avec plus de 63 000 nouveaux assurés qui nous ont rejoint en AOS, en 2023, le bilan commercial est très réjouissant pour la deuxième année consécutive », se félicite Karin Perraudin, présidente du Conseil d’administration du Groupe Mutuel.

Ce succès est d’autant plus réjouissant que le contexte de notre secteur et de l’ensemble de l’économie, reste très tendu. Avec une forte hausse des coûts de la santé de l’ordre de 3,7% (plus forte hausse de ces 10 dernières années) et donc une forte hausse des primes. Mais En 2023, ce sont donc plus de 63 000 nouveaux clients qui ont décidé de rejoindre le Groupe Mutuel. Après les quelque 67 500 nouveaux assurés de l’an dernier, c’est un deuxième succès consécutif qui vient donc valider les options prises par le Conseil d’administration et la direction.

« En termes de production et de chiffres d’affaires, nous sommes sur la bonne voie, dans tous les secteurs de l’entreprise, et je m’en réjouis. Je félicite toutes les équipes du Groupe Mutuel qui ont contribué à ce nouveau succès important », indique Thomas Boyer, CEO du Groupe Mutuel.

De nombreux indicateurs commerciaux sont donc au vert, ce qui fait de l’année 2023, un bon millésime. Dans l’assurance Vie par exemple, la production nette de nouveaux capitaux approche les 250 millions de francs en croissance de plus de 40% par rapport à l’année précédente. Le secteur Entreprises poursuit sa croissance avec près de 30 000 entreprises clientes (+1 500), confortant ainsi notre position de cinquième assureur suisse, même si certains assainissements ont été rendus nécessaires à cause de la hausse de la sinistralité (absentéisme plus important, avec forte hausse des maladies psychiques).

«Cette croissance dans tous les domaines de l’entreprise renforce notre stratégie de diversification. Nous allons donc poursuivre sur ce chemin et continuer à proposer à nos clients toute une palette de nouveaux produits santé et prévoyance qui correspondent aux besoins des clients et aux attentes du marché. Nous sommes les seuls en Suisse à pouvoir le faire, pour les clients privés et les entreprises. C’est une de nos forces et nous allons donc poursuivre ce développement et cette croissance notamment en Suisse alémanique avec nos solutions LPP solides et innovantes, qui remportent un vif succès commercial puisque pour la première fois les primes encaissées dans ce secteur dépassent les 200 millions de francs », poursuit le CEO.

Pourtant, malgré toutes ces bonnes nouvelles et comme souvent dans la vie, la recherche de l’équilibre parfait n’est jamais simple. Si les nouvelles sur le front commercial sont excellentes, elles sont un peu plus nuancées en termes de résultats financiers. La perte financière de cette année et celle de l’année dernière nous obligent à une plus grande prudence, à une rigueur budgétaire et à une meilleure maîtrise de notre rentabilité.

«La hausse plus importante que prévu des coûts de la santé, couplée à des marchés boursiers encore très volatils, impliquent que certains indicateurs financiers nécessitent notre attention », explique la présidente Karin Perraudin.

La pression réglementaire et politique pour limiter la hausse des primes et le niveau de réserves est compréhensible. En revanche, il ne faudrait pas que cela se fasse au détriment des assurés. Nos réserves ont fortement diminué à tel point que certaines caisses sont dans une situation plus fragile. Cela est principalement dû à la forte hausse des coûts de la santé. En résumé, les primes des assureurs ne couvrent plus les coûts depuis un certain temps.

Il est donc urgent d’agir pour éviter de nouvelles hausses des coûts de la santé. Le système de santé suisse est résilient. Il est solide. Il l’a démontré lors de la crise du Covid. Mais son financement n’est pas durable. « Tous les partenaires doivent donc agir ensemble. C’est pourquoi, le Groupe Mutuel appelle à la création d’une Task Force afin que tous les acteurs du système se réunissent autour de la même table pour proposer des mesures fortes et applicables au 1er janvier 2025, afin de stabiliser les coûts. Ce n’est pas une utopie ou une nouvelle idée en l’air. La Suisse est capable de le faire. Elle l’a prouvé par le passé », plaide Thomas Boyer, CEO du Groupe Mutuel.

Des décisions sont possibles, immédiatement, sur le prix des médicaments, sur un encouragement à utiliser plus de génériques, sur les fausses incitations et les actes médicaux inutiles, sur l’obligation générale d’un dossier électronique du patient. « Je suis convaincu que nous devons le faire et les assureurs portent bien évidemment leur part de responsabilité pour trouver les meilleures solutions acceptables par le plus grand nombre. On n’a pas le droit de laisser aller les choses en espérant que tout change sans rien modifier à nos méthodes », indique Thomas Boyer.

Les défis 2024 sont donc nombreux et stimulants. Les enjeux politiques aussi avec des votations importantes et des débats passionnants. « Il y a urgence à trouver des solutions efficaces applicables rapidement. Je plaide donc pour un peu moins de discussions et un peu plus de décisions pour aider sérieusement les citoyens », espère Karin Perraudin. Le Groupe Mutuel intensifiera également ses efforts pour rendre l’expérience client encore plus simple et efficace. « Nous serons là pour accompagner nos assurés tout au long de leur parcours, pour les conseiller et les aider », conclut Thomas Boyer.

Karin Perraudin
Présidente

Thomas Boyer
CEO

Lire la suite Réduire

Chiffres-clés

Groupe Mutuel Holding SA

0

Le nombre de clients individuels, tous domaines d’activités confondus, a augmenté en 2023 pour atteindre 1,420 million d’assurés, représentant une hausse par rapport à 2022 (1,340 million).

Santé clients privés

Chiffre d’affaires en hausse
Le chiffre d’affaires du secteur « Santé » se monte à 5,854 milliards de francs (5,326 milliards en 2022). Ce résultat en forte hausse cache pourtant une autre réalité. Les pertes techniques sont en effet importantes car les primes encaissées ne couvrent pas, et de très loin, les factures à payer. Le manque est évalué, par l’association faîtière santésuisse, pour l’ensemble de la branche, à plusieurs milliards de francs.

Chiffre d’affaires LAMal
Le volume des primes brutes selon LAMAL a augmenté à 4,49 milliards de francs (4,14 en 2022). De l’autre côté, les prestations d’assurances augmentent sensiblement à 4,469 milliards de francs (4,113 milliards en 2022). Le résultat technique d’assurance atteint -278 millions de francs en 2023 (-163 millions en 2022).

Assurances complémentaires privées LCA
Les assurances complémentaires privées proposées par Groupe Mutuel Assurances GMA SA terminent l’exercice 2023 sur une perte s’élevant à -11 millions de francs (contre un résultatnégatif de -121 millions en 2022).

Contrôle des coûts
Le contrôle des factures réduit les coûts de 9,4% avec une économie de 600 millions de francs.

Effectifs assurés AOS
La concurrence entre les assureurs a incité un nombre d’assurés plus important que d’habitude à changer de caisse ou à optimiser ses assurances. L’année commerciale 2023 se termine pour le Groupe Mutuel, sur une progression réjouissante.  Ainsi, le nombre d’assurés titulaires d’une assurance de base (AOS) s’élève à 1 070 500 au 1er janvier 2024 contre 1 007 500 en 2023, soit un gain net de plus de 63 000 assurés.

Prévoyance individuelle

Un succès qui se confirme
Groupe Mutuel Vie se focalise sur la gamme d’assurance-vie individuelle à primes périodiques. Que ce soit pour combler les lacunes de prévoyance à l’âge de la retraite ou se prémunir contre les aléas de la vie, nos solutions flexibles et compétitives répondent aux besoins variés de nos clients. Lancée en 2022, notre assurance épargne VariaInvest continue de séduire notre réseau de distribution et nos partenaires externes grâce à sa flexibilité inégalée sur le marché.

Le Groupe Mutuel Vie se positionne comme un acteur innovant, actif tant dans le domaine de la santé que de la prévoyance. Une nouvelle offre produit lancée en mars 2024, combinant des couvertures santé et prévoyance, permet de confirmer cette orientation stratégique. Cette solution unique en son genre permet à nos clients d’épargner pour leur retraite tout en protégeant leur épargne contre les dépenses imprévues résultant d’une hospitalisation prolongée et/ou de la naissance d’un enfant.

Développement commercial
Groupe Mutuel Vie distribue ses produits d’assurance par son réseau propre (agences générales du Groupe Mutuel) et par un réseau d’agents externes. Soutenus par la nouvelle solution épargne VariaInvest, nous avons enregistré une augmentation de 4% du nombre de nouvelles affaires conclues.

Perspectives
L’acceptation par le peuple de l’initiative pour la 13e rente AVS « Mieux vivre à la retraite » a renforcé la nécessité d’épargner pour sa retraite et de sécuriser son épargne. Le Groupe Mutuel Vie avec son produit VariaInvest alliant épargne sûre, perspectives de rendement et grande flexibilité, offre à ses clients une solution permettant de répondre à ces besoins autour de la prévoyance individuelle. Par ailleurs, Groupe Mutuel entend développer des produits innovants intégrant la couverture des besoins autour de sa santé dans une optique de prévoyance privée. La formation continue de notre réseau et l’amélioration du conseil resteront l’une de nos priorités.

Assurances santé pour entreprises et prévoyance professionnelle

La progression se poursuit
Les assurances pour entreprises continuent en 2023 leur progression et voient le nombre d’entreprises clientes croître de 1 500 nouveaux clients à 29 500 sociétés assurées au Groupe Mutuel. Ce domaine confirme sa progression et demeure le 2e secteur d’activité en termes de revenus, devant les assurances complémentaires santé pour privés (LCA).

Le chiffre d’affaires global du domaine Entreprise est en hausse de 146 millions de francs pour atteindre 974 millions en 2023 contre 828 millions en 2022, soit une progression de plus de 17%. C’est surtout la perte de gain maladie (indemnités journalières LAMal + LCA) qui progresse de manière réjouissante, pour atteindre 609 millions de francs de chiffre d’affaires (504 millions en 2022, soit +105 millions). En 5 ans, ce chiffre a augmenté de plus de 250 millions.

En matière de perte de gain maladie, le Groupe Mutuel figure ainsi aujourd’hui au 5e rang suisse, devant la plupart des assureurs privés, ce qui est tout à fait remarquable. En 2023, le chiffre d’affaires pour les assurances-accidents (le volume des primes des assurances-accidents selon LAA et LAAC), continue sa progression et se monte à 161 millions de francs contre 138 millions en 2022, soit 23 millions de plus.

Succès de Groupe Mutuel Prévoyance-GMP et renforcement avec Opsion
Groupe Mutuel Prévoyance-GMP performe également très bien avec 2882 entreprises affiliées pour près de 30 000 personnes assurées. Le total du bilan LPP est de 2,78 milliards pour un taux de couverture de 109%. Pour la première fois, le montant des primes encaissées dépasse les 200 millions. Le taux de rémunération des avoirs LPP est de 2% en 2024, dans les meilleurs du marché.

Depuis 2021, Opsion nous permet également d’offrir enfin une palette complète d’offres en matière de Prévoyance, renforçant ainsi notre présence sur le marché.

Une dimension humaine pour faciliter la proximité
Les entreprises trouvent, sous un même toit, toute la palette des assurances pour leurs collaboratrices et leurs collaborateurs. Avec Xnet Entreprise, chacun peut gérer les aspects administratifs de son entreprise facilement et se concentrer ainsi sur l’essentiel.

Des situations win-win en matière de santé en entreprise
Valeur ajouté considérable, nos différents spécialistes pour la gestion des incapacités de travail, des absences et de la santé en entreprise, en tout plus de 150 experts et spécialistes, sont à la disposition des entreprises pour assurer des situations win-win pour tous les acteurs concernés (employé, employeur, assureur).

Notre concept de Gestion de la Santé en Entreprise (GSE) fournit le cadre et la boîte à outils pour assurer la gestion optimale de toutes les situations en lien avec la santé des collaborateurs. C’est d’ailleurs dans ce domaine que nous comptons faire preuve d’innovation en renforçant encore nos prestations ces prochaines années en tant que partenaire de confiance de nos entreprises clientes.

Gouvernance

Le Groupe Mutuel est organisé sous forme de holding. Les sociétés qui composent la holding sont actives dans les différents domaines de l’assurance, notamment la santé et la prévoyance, tant pour les Gouvernances assurés individuels que pour les entreprises. Groupe Mutuel Holding SA appartient intégralement à Groupe Mutuel Fondation, une fondation à but non lucratif. Celle-ci soutient le bien-être, la promotion et la prévention de la santé pour la population suisse au travers de multiples activités.

Structure du Groupe Mutuel

Structure du Groupe Mutuel

Organigramme du Groupe Mutuel au 31.12.2023

Organigramme du Groupe Mutuel au 31.12.2023
Groupe Mutuel Rapport 2022

Rue des Cèdres 5 Case postale, 1919 Martigny    |    +41 0848.803.111