Fondation Groupe Mutuel

Activity Report 2023

Editorial

“The world continues to change, and yet there is no shortage of challenges”

The world continues to change. And yet, there is no shortage of challenges, whether financial, political, social, cultural or environmental.

Fortunately, the fears of recession expressed by many economists at the end of 2022 will not have materialized. The job market has remained resilient in Europe and the United States. The fight against inflation initiated by central banks was successful. In Switzerland, economic growth was sluggish, but the unemployment rate remained at an all-time low. On financial markets, the 2023 performance was positive, driven in particular by technology stocks and solid earnings.

Yet, there is no shortage of challenges. The overall geopolitical situation remains tense, with significant direct and indirect effects.

Against this mixed global backdrop, many people in Switzerland today are in need of help, support and a sympathetic ear. We are deeply aware of this, and it is our social responsibility to do everything we can not to abandon these people, to come to their aid and to help them as best we can.

It was in this spirit of responsibility and solidarity that Fondation Groupe Mutuel was created back in 2018. In addition to being owned by Groupe Mutuel Holding SA, the Foundation aims to make a tangible commitment in the fields of health and prevention. In 2023, Fondation Groupe Mutuel provided financial support to a large number of projects and associations, as well as to people in need. It also continued its investigations and research to identify ways of improving the health system.

In particular, Fondation Groupe Mutuel supported Resiliam (an association that supports children and young people aged 0 to 24 faced with serious illness, disability or the death of a loved one) and NBCI Suisse (which works to combat discrimination and violence), through the “Groupe Mutuel Bouge” challenge. 575 employees in 45 teams took part in the challenge, which was launched within the company as part of the “suisse.bouge inter-communal duel”, of which Groupe Mutuel is a sponsor. Thanks to everyone's efforts, CHF 10,000 was donated in equal parts to Resiliam and NBCI Suisse.

In 2023, Fondation Groupe Mutuel was involved once again in the RTS charity event Cœur à Cœur. The goal, which was largely achieved, was to mobilise people in French-speaking Switzerland in support of education and training for children and young people in difficulty. Cœur à Cœur ended on a high note, raising CHF 4,329,701 for La Chaîne du Bonheur. Groupe Mutuel donated CHF 25,000.

Once again, Fondation Groupe Mutuel was able to help individuals who had sent their application to us to request one-off financial medical support. Unexpected costs, due to a serious illness or accident, can rapidly jeopardise a household’s financial situation. Similarly, innovative treatments that are not yet recognised in Switzerland may prove difficult to finance for some people.

Financial support for studies and research relating to the health system focused on two priority areas in 2023: over-medicalisation and excessive interventions. The aim, now and in the future, is to place the patient at the centre of the ecosystem – with the following question in mind: what added value can we bring to the overall process of care and recovery?

In the annual report, you will find a summary of our activities and support provided in 2023. Forty-one associations in German-speaking, French-speaking and Italian-speaking Switzerland will have received support from Fondation Groupe Mutuel over the past year. These associations and foundations offer hope, as well as projects that are sustainable, ambitious and tangible in terms of health, care, support, rehabilitation and prevention.

I am delighted to see that Fondation Groupe Mutuel is actively helping those who are suffering and in need. This is the very meaning of its action, ambition and mission.

On behalf of the Foundation Board,

Karin Perraudin,
President

Commitments

Created in 2018, Fondation Groupe Mutuel carries out its activities on a non-profit basis. It supports the well-being of Swiss people, as well as health promotion and prevention measures. In 2023, the Foundation continued to implement commitments that are fully in line with its objectives.  

Support for associations and research  
An incentive fund was set up for institutions, associations and individuals working to improve health in Switzerland. The fund provides financial support for projects that are deemed particularly useful in the areas of prevention and health promotion, as well as research and education.  

Support for individuals  
Unexpected costs, due to a serious illness or accident, can rapidly jeopardise a household’s financial situation. Similarly, innovative treatments that are not yet recognised in Switzerland may prove difficult to finance for some people. Aware of these challenges, Fondation Groupe Mutuel also makes available a fund to provide exceptional and one-off assistance to a number of insured persons whose applications have been shortlisted after detailed review by specialists.  

41 associations supported in 2023 
Forty-one associations from all over the country, in both German-speaking and French-speaking Switzerland, received support from Fondation Groupe Mutuel in 2023. These associations and foundations have concrete, ambitious and sustainable health projects in a wide range of fields. 

“Groupe Mutuel Bouge” challenge  
In 2023, Fondation Groupe Mutuel also supported the associations Resiliam and NBCI Suisse through the “Groupe Mutuel Bouge” challenge. 575 employees in 45 teams took part in the challenge, which was launched within the company as part of the “suisse.bouge inter-communal duel”, of which Groupe Mutuel is a sponsor. During an entire month, these employees got into the habit of exercising more to accumulate precious minutes for the benefit of these two associations. Thanks to everyone's efforts, CHF 10,000 will have been donated in equal parts to Resiliam and NBCI Suisse. 

Laureus, three years of a national partnership 
In 2021, Groupe Mutuel launched a three-year national partnership with Fondation Laureus Suisse, which ended at the end of 2023. The aim of the partnership was to offer children and young people the possibility of having a positive and independent life through sport.  

“Cœur à Cœur”
New year, new concept! For its eighth edition, and for the first time ever, Swiss television channel RTS converted its entire number 51 bus into a mobile studio that travelled the roads of French-speaking Switzerland from 16 to 22 December 2023, stopping each day at a Christmas market. Challenges were organised every day to mobilise the people of this part of the country in support of education and training for children and young people in difficulty. Three of RTS's star presenters – Tania Chytil, Philippe Martin and Jonas Schneiter – and 125 guests went out to meet the public, travelling through a canton in French-speaking Switzerland each day. The programme was broadcast on RTS La Première, Couleur 3 and Option Musique and broadcast live every evening of the week on RTS 1 from 6.25pm to 6.50pm.  

And, for the first time, the Cœur à Cœur operation was joined by a national solidarity movement on the SSR channels. 

Cœur à Cœur ended on a high note, raising CHF 4,329,701 for La Chaîne du Bonheur. In addition to its partnership with Coeur à Coeur, Groupe Mutuel donated CHF 25,000 to these projects. 

Studies and projects in health economics, support for research 
There is no shortage of challenges facing the Swiss healthcare system. From inappropriate financial incentives and over-regulation to costs and quality of care, there are many areas of work to be tackled.

In this demanding and constantly changing context, Groupe Mutuel intends to contribute to strengthening a liberal healthcare system that is financially sustainable, focused on value and on the patient, and which provides guarantees for the quality of care. With this in mind, Groupe Mutuel promotes and supports research in health economics.  

On the one hand, this involves analysing the problems and major challenges facing the healthcare system and considering how to respond to them; on the other, it involves contributing to debates on improving the system and putting forward practical applications for Groupe Mutuel. 

Support for research focuses on two priority areas: over-medicalisation and excessive interventions. 

These two themes can be broken down into two areas: the quality of medical indications and the optimisation of care provision.

In 2023, three research projects received financial support from Fondation Groupe Mutuel: the “Pay for Patient Value” project, the “Price sensitivity and demand for healthcare services” study, and finally the “Artificial intelligence in the medical database” project, which was launched in 2022 by Fondation FORE for shoulder surgery. 

Governance

Foundation Board

President
Mrs Karin Perraudin

Vice-President
Mr Georges Zünd

Secretary
Mr Daniel Bitschnau

Members

  • Mr Claude Bähler
  • Mr Marc André Ballestraz
  • Mrs Anne-Laure Couchepin
  • Mr Mathieu Dorsaz
  • Mr Fabio Naselli Feo
  • Mr Laurent Nicod
  • Mr Christian Spillmann
  • Mr Willem Wynaendts

Key figures

2023

0

Creation of Fondation Groupe Mutuel

0

Number of different donations made through Fondation Groupe Mutuel since its creation

0

Number of associations supported in 2023, both in German-speaking and French-speaking Switzerland 

0

In addition to its partnership with Cœur à Cœur, Groupe Mutuel donated CHF 25,000 to these projects. 

0

Through the “Groupe Mutuel Bouge” challenge, CHF 10,000 will have been donated in equal parts to Resiliam and NBCI Suisse. 

0

Three major national university research projects on over-medicalisation and excessive interventions were financially supported in 2023. 

0,7%

Degree of coverage as of 05/31/2024

0,82%

Investment performance as of 05/31/2024

Groupe Mutuel Rapport 2022

Rue des Cèdres 5 Case postale, 1919 Martigny    |    +41 0848.803.111

Fondation Groupe Mutuel

Tätigkeitsbericht 2023

Editorial

«Die Welt entwickelt sich weiter, und an Herausforderungen mangelt es nicht» 

Die Welt entwickelt sich weiter. Und an Herausforderungen, ob in Bezug auf Finanzen, Politik, Gesellschaft, Kultur oder Klima, mangelt es nicht.

Glücklicherweise blieben die von einer Mehrheit der Wirtschaftsfachleute geäusserten Rezessionsbefürchtungen für Ende 2022 unbegründet. Der Arbeitsmarkt war in Europa und den USA nach wie vor robust. Die von den Zentralbanken eingeleitete Inflationsbekämpfung erwies sich als erfolgreich. In der Schweiz war das Wirtschaftswachstum gedämpft, wobei die Arbeitslosenquote ihren historischen Tiefststand jedoch beibehielt. Und an den Finanzmärkten war die Performance 2023 positiv, angetrieben vor allem von Technologiewerten und soliden Gewinnen.

Aber es stehen viele Herausforderungen an. Die geopolitische Lage bleibt weltweit angespannt, mit beträchtlichen direkten und indirekten Auswirkungen.

In diesem kontrastreichen globalen Umfeld benötigen heute viele Menschen – auch in der Schweiz – Hilfe, Unterstützung und ein offenes Ohr. Wir sind uns dessen bewusst, und es ist unsere gesellschaftliche Verantwortung, alles zu tun, um sie nicht allein zu lassen, ihnen zu helfen und sie so gut wie möglich zu unterstützen.

Mit diesem Gedanken der Verantwortung und Solidarität wurde 2018 die Fondation Groupe Mutuel gegründet. Die Stiftung ist Eigentümerin der Groupe Mutuel Holding AG und hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, sich konkret in den Bereichen Gesundheit und Prävention zu engagieren. So hat die Fondation Groupe Mutuel im Jahr 2023 zahlreiche Projekte und Vereine sowie Menschen in Not unterstützt. Ausserdem setzte sie ihre Studien- und Forschungsarbeit fort, um Wege zur Verbesserung des Gesundheitssystems aufzuzeigen.

Im Rahmen der Challenge Groupe Mutuel bewegt hat die Fondation Groupe Mutuel insbesondere die Vereine Resiliam (Unterstützung von Kindern und Jugendlichen von 0 bis 24 Jahren, die mit einer schweren Krankheit, einer Behinderung oder dem Tod eines Angehörigen konfrontiert sind) und NBCI Schweiz (Engagement gegen Diskriminierung und Gewalt) unterstützt. Die Groupe Mutuel sponsert diese Challenge, die im Rahmen des Gemeinde-Duells von schweiz.bewegt im Unternehmen durchgeführt wurde. 575 Mitarbeitende haben in 45 Teams daran teilgenommen. Dank der Anstrengungen aller Beteiligten konnten 10 000 Franken zu gleichen Teilen an Resiliam und NBCI Schweiz überwiesen werden.

Die Stiftung hat sich 2023 erneut an der Wohltätigkeitsaktion von RTS «Coeur à Coeur» beteiligt. Das Ziel, die Bewohner dieses Landesteils für die Bildung und Ausbildung von Kindern und Jugendlichen in Schwierigkeiten zu mobilisieren, wurde weitgehend erreicht. Dank «Coeur à Coeur» kam ein überwältigender Betrag von 4 329 701 Franken zusammen, der an die Glückskette gespendet wurde. Die Groupe Mutuel überwies ihrerseits eine Spende von 25 000 Franken.

Die Fondation Groupe Mutuel hat auch Einzelpersonen unterstützt, die sich für punktuelle Hilfe bei der Finanzierung von Behandlungen an uns gewandt haben. Unerwartete Kosten im Zusammenhang mit einer schweren Krankheit oder einem Unfall können das Budget eines Haushalts erheblich belasten. Es könnte auch sein, dass neuartige und in der Schweiz noch nicht anerkannte Behandlungsmethoden für einen Teil der Bevölkerung nicht bezahlbar sind.

Was die Unterstützung von Studien und Forschung im Hinblick auf das Gesundheitssystem betrifft, konzentrierte sich diese im Jahr 2023 auf zwei Schwerpunkte: Über- und Fehlversorgung. Das Ziel für heute und morgen ist es, die Patientin oder den Patienten in den Mittelpunkt des Ökosystems zu stellen, mit folgender Frage im Fokus: Welchen Mehrwert kann man in den gesamtheitlichen Prozess der Betreuung und Heilung einbringen?

In diesem Jahresbericht geben wir Ihnen eine Übersicht über unsere Tätigkeiten und unsere Unterstützung im Jahr 2023. Die Fondation Groupe Mutuel hat im vergangenen Jahr 41 Vereine aus der Deutschschweiz, der Romandie und dem Tessin unterstützt. Vereine und Stiftungen, die Hoffnungsträger sind und nachhaltige, ehrgeizige und konkrete Projekte in den Bereichen Gesundheit, Pflege, Begleitung, Rehabilitation und Prävention verfolgen.

Ich freue mich sehr, dass die Fondation Groupe Mutuel aktiv dazu beiträgt, Menschen zu helfen, die leiden und Hilfe benötigen. Das ist der Kern ihres Handelns, ihrer Ambitionen und ihrer Mission.

Für den Stiftungsrat:

Karin Perraudin,
Präsidentin

Verpflichtungen

Die 2018 gegründete Fondation Groupe Mutuel verfolgt mit ihren Aktivitäten einen gemeinnützigen Zweck. Sie unterstützt das Wohlbefinden, die Prävention und die Gesundheitsförderung der Schweizer Bevölkerung. Im Jahr 2023 hat die Stiftung die Umsetzung ihrer Engagements im Einklang mit ihren Zielen fortgesetzt.  

Unterstützung von Vereinen und Forschung  
Für Institutionen, Vereine und Personen, die sich für die Gesundheit in der Schweiz einsetzen, wurde ein Förderungsfonds eingerichtet. Dieser Fonds bietet in den Bereichen Prävention und Gesundheitsförderung, aber auch im Rahmen von Forschung oder Bildung finanzielle Unterstützung für Projekte, die als besonders nützlich erachtet werden.  

Unterstützung für Einzelversicherte  
Unerwartete Kosten im Zusammenhang mit einer schweren Krankheit oder einem Unfall können das Budget eines Haushalts erheblich belasten. Es könnte auch sein, dass neuartige und in der Schweiz noch nicht anerkannte Behandlungsmethoden für einen Teil der Bevölkerung nicht bezahlbar sind. Für solche Fälle hat die Fondation Groupe Mutuel einen Fonds eingerichtet, der Versicherten nach detaillierter Analyse ihres Dossiers durch Spezialisten eine ausserordentliche, einmalige Unterstützung bietet.  

41 unterstützte Vereine im Jahr 2023 
Die Fondation Groupe Mutuel hat 2023 41 Vereine in der Deutsch- und in der Westschweiz unterstützt – Vereine und Stiftungen mit konkreten, ehrgeizigen und nachhaltigen Gesundheitsprojekten in verschiedensten Bereichen. 

Challenge Groupe Mutuel bewegt  
Im Jahr 2023 hat die Fondation Groupe Mutuel auch die Vereine Resiliam und NBCI Schweiz über die Challenge Groupe Mutuel bewegt unterstützt. Die Groupe Mutuel sponsert diese Challenge, die im Rahmen des Gemeinde-Duells von schweiz.bewegt im Unternehmen durchgeführt wurde. 575 Mitarbeitende haben in 45 Teams daran teilgenommen. Einen ganzen Monat lang haben diese Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter einige ihrer Gewohnheiten geändert, um sich mehr zu bewegen und so wertvolle Minuten für die beiden Vereine zu sammeln. Dank der Anstrengungen aller Beteiligten konnten 10 000 Franken zu gleichen Teilen an Resiliam und NBCI Schweiz überwiesen werden. 

Laureus, drei Jahre nationale Partnerschaft 
Im Jahr 2021 startete die Groupe Mutuel eine dreijährige nationale Partnerschaft mit der Laureus Stiftung Schweiz, die sich dafür einsetzt, Kindern und Jugendlichen durch Sport ein positives und selbstbestimmtes Leben zu ermöglichen. Die Partnerschaft lief Ende 2023 aus und war auch in diesem dritten Jahr ein voller Erfolg.  

«Coeur à Coeur» 
Neues Jahr, neues Konzept! Für die achte Ausgabe und zum ersten Mal hat das Team von RTS seinen Bus 51 vollständig in ein mobiles Studio umgebaut, das vom 16. bis 22. Dezember 2023 auf den Strassen der Westschweiz unterwegs war und jeden Tag auf einem Weihnachtsmarkt Halt machte. Ebenfalls jeden Tag wurden Herausforderungen organisiert, um die Bewohner dieses Landesteils für die Bildung und Ausbildung von Kindern und Jugendlichen in Schwierigkeiten zu mobilisieren. Drei Starmoderatoren und -moderatorinnen von RTS – Tania Chytil, Philippe Martin und Jonas Schneiter – sowie 125 Gäste haben sich auf ihrer Reise durch die Kantone der Romandie mit der Bevölkerung getroffen. Die Sendung wurde auf RTS La Première, Couleur 3 und Option Musique ausgestrahlt und an jedem Abend der Woche von 18.25 bis 18.50 Uhr live auf RTS 1 übertragen.  

Und zum ersten Mal schloss sich der Aktion «Coeur à Coeur» eine nationale Solidaritätsbewegung auf den SRG-Sendern an. 

Dank «Coeur à Coeur» kam ein überwältigender Betrag von 4 329 701 Franken zusammen, der an die Glückskette gespendet wurde. Zusätzlich zur Partnerschaft mit Coeur à Coeur hat die Groupe Mutuel eine Spende von 25 000 Franken für diese Projekte überwiesen. 

Studien und Projekte im Bereich der Gesundheitsökonomie, Unterstützung der Forschung 
Es gibt viele Herausforderungen, mit denen das Schweizer Gesundheitssystem konfrontiert ist: finanzielle Fehlanreize, Überregulierung sowie die Kosten und Qualität der Versorgung.

In diesem anspruchsvollen und sich ständig weiterentwickelnden Umfeld möchte die Groupe Mutuel zur Stärkung eines liberalen, finanziell nachhaltigen, patienten- und wertorientierten Gesundheitswesens beitragen, in dem die Qualität der medizinischen Versorgung gewährleistet ist. In diesem Sinn fördert und unterstützt sie die Forschung auf dem Gebiet der Gesundheitsökonomie.  

Zum einen müssen die Probleme und die zentralen Herausforderungen des Gesundheitswesens analysiert und Überlegungen angestellt werden, wie darauf reagiert werden kann; zum anderen geht es darum, an den Diskussionen über die Verbesserung des Systems teilzunehmen und praktische Anwendungen für die Groupe Mutuel vorzuschlagen. 

Die Forschungsförderung konzentriert sich auf zwei Schwerpunkte: die Über- und Fehlversorgung. 

Diese beiden Themen lassen sich in zwei Stossrichtungen unterteilen: die Qualität der medizinischen Indikation und die Optimierung des Versorgungsangebots.

Im Jahr 2023 wurden drei Forschungsprojekte von der Fondation Groupe Mutuel finanziell unterstützt: das Projekt «Pay for Patient Value», die Studie «Price sensitivity and demand for Healthcare services» (Preissensibilität und Nachfrage nach Gesundheitsleistungen) und schliesslich das Projekt «L’intelligence artificielle dans la base de données médicales (Künstliche Intelligenz in medizinischen Datenbanken), das 2022 von der Stiftung FORE für die Schulterchirurgie gestartet wurde. 

Governance

Der Stiftungsrat setzt sich aus folgenden Personen zusammen:

Präsidentin
Karin Perraudin

Vizepräsident
Georges Zünd

Sekretär
Daniel Bitschnau

Mitglieder                          

  • Claude Bähler
  • Marc-André Ballestraz
  • Anne-Laure Couchepin
  • Mathieu Dorsaz
  • Fabio Naselli Feo
  • Laurent Nicod
  • Christian Spillmann
  • Willem Wynaendts

Kennzahlen

2023

0

Gründung der Fondation Groupe Mutuel

0

verschiedene Spenden wurden seit der Gründung der Fondation Groupe Mutuel getätigt

0

unterstützte Vereine im Jahr 2023, sowohl in der Deutschschweiz als auch in der Romandie 

0

Franken hat die Groupe Mutuel in Ergänzung zur Partnerschaft mit Coeur à Coeur für die entsprechenden Projekte gespendet 

0

Im Rahmen der Challenge Groupe Mutuel bewegt wurden 10 000 Franken zu gleichen Teilen an Resiliam und NBCI Schweiz überwiesen 

0

wichtige nationale akademische Forschungsprojekte zum Thema Medizinische Über- und Fehlversorgung wurden 2023 unterstützt 

0,7%

Deckungsgrad per 31.05.2024

0,82%

Anlageperformance per 31.05.2024

Groupe Mutuel Rapport 2022

Rue des Cèdres 5 Case postale, 1919 Martigny    |    +41 0848.803.111